Men’s and Women’s Basketball Honored at Annual Awards Banquet
Lavoy Allen, Kristen McCarthy and Ryan Brooks

Men’s and Women’s Basketball Honored at Annual Awards Banquet

PHILADELPHIA – Senior Ryan Brooks and junior Lavoy Allen were named co-men's basketball Most Valuable Players, while sophomore Kristen McCarthy took the honor on the women's side at the Owl Club Annual Awards Banquet held Tuesday, April 20 on the main campus at Mitten Hall.

The Jim Maloney Most Valuable Player award went to both Allen and Brooks, who helped lead the men's team to a third straight Atlantic 10 Championship and a 29-6 season. McCarthy helped lead the women's team to a 25-9 record and an appearance in the NCAA Second Round.

Redshirt freshman T.J. DiLeo was named the recipient of the Tim Claxton Award for loyalty, dedication and attitude to the University and community. Sophomore Micheal Eric earned the Harry Litwack award for sportsmanship, dedication, devotion and conduct on and off the court. The Ted Quedenfeld Most Courageous Athlete Award went to sophomore Juan Fernandez, while the Owl Club Academic Award on the men's side went to senior Luis Guzman.

Senior Keisha Eaddy earned two awards for the women's team, taking both for the second year in a row. Eaddy was the recipient of the team's Top Defensive Player award as well as the Owl Club Academic Award. Senior Jasmine Stone was named the team's Most Improved Player for the second straight year.

Senior KC Watkins-Day earned women's basketball's Henry Sklar Award, presented to the player who displays outstanding academic achievement, leadership, good citizenship and dedication.

Men's Awards: Jim Maloney Most Valuable Players: Lavoy Allen and Ryan Brooks; Harry Litwack Award: Micheal Eric; Tim Claxton Award: T.J. DiLeo; Ted Quedenfeld Most Courageous Athlete Award: Juan Fernandez; Owl Club Academic Award: Luis Guzman.

Women's Awards: Most Valuable Player: Kristen McCarthy; Most Improved Player: Jasmine Stone; Henry Sklar Award: KC Watkins-Day; Top Defensive Player: Keisha Eaddy; Owl Club Academic Award: Keisha Eaddy.
Print Friendly Version