Women's Crew Competes at Murphy Cup

Women's Crew Competes at Murphy Cup


The Temple women's varsity 8 placed fifth in the Petite Final Saturday at the 29th Annual Murphy Cup. The Owls women's varsity 4 came in fourth on the day in one of the top collegiate regattas held on the Schuylkill River.

Temple's varsity 8, comprised sophomore Jeanine Lees (stroke), junior Allison Boc (7-seat), sophomore Megan Welsh (6-seat), sophomore Joanna Sutor (5-seat), junior Taylor Wasserleben (4-seat), sophomore Paige O' Sullivan (3-seat), freshman Kara Carson (2-seat), graduate student Brynn Moore (bow), and senior Erin Buchanan (cox), finished fourth in its heat, just under three seconds behind Jacksonville.

The Owls' varsity 4, comprised of senior Caitlin Pennington (stroke), freshman Sarah Gierhart (3-seat), Victoria Joye (2-seat), senior Allison Bates (bow) and junior Nune Curran (bow), was just 3.69 seconds behind third place Lafayette while besting La Salle by over 11 seconds.

Temple next travels to Fairfax, Va. to compete in the Occoquan Sprints next Sunday.
Print Friendly Version