Lavoy Allen Named Men's Basketball Most Valuable Player

Lavoy Allen Named Men's Basketball Most Valuable Player

PHILADELPHIA  – Temple University senior forward Lavoy Allen was named the recipient of the Jim Maloney Award which is presented annually to the men's basketball team's Most Valuable Player at the Owl Club Annual Awards Banquet held Wednesday, April 16 on the main campus at Mitten Hall.

Allen ended his career as Temple's all-time rebound leader (1,147) and 24th on the all-time scoring list with 1,421 points. He also moved into third place on the all-time blocked shots list with 213 and his 98 career wins in a Cherry and White uniform place him eighth in program history. A two-time first team All-Atlantic 10 selection and three-time all-defensive team honoree, the Morrisville, Pa. native led Temple and ranked second in the A10 in rebounding (8.6 ppg.) while placing third on the team in scoring (11.6 ppg.). He also led the Owls in blocked shots with a career best 61 and compiled 41 career double-doubles, including eight in his last nine games.

Junior guard Ramone Moore was named the recipient of the Tim Claxton Award for loyalty, dedication and attitude to the University and community. Graduate student forward Dutch Gaitley was honored with the Harry Litwack Award for sportsmanship, dedication, devotion and conduct on and off the court. Junior guard Juan Fernandez was the recipient of the Anthony B. Cimino, Sr. Scholar-Athlete Award that is given in recognition of outstanding academic and athletic achievements.

The Ted Quedenfeld Most Courageous Athlete Award went to junior Scootie Randall, while the Owl Club Academic Award on the men's side went to sophomore T.J. DiLeo

The Owl Club also presented the Congie DeVito Award to his mother, Roberta DeVito, for her loyalty, passion and extraordinary devotion to Temple Athletics. Congie, a longtime Owl Club member and supporter, passed away this past February from complications of Osteogenesis imperfecta, more commonly known as brittle bone disease, which afflicted him since birth.

Three Owl Club members – Joan Ballots, Joe Mesko and Ann McKernan Robinson - received the 2011 Joseph “Jack” Hutton Honor Roll Award.
Print Friendly Version