No. 7 Fencing Dominates at NIWFA Championships

No. 7 Fencing Dominates at NIWFA Championships

Team Results | Individual Results

On Saturday, No. 7 Temple Fencing attended the 84th Annual National Intercollegiate Women's Fencing Association (NIWFA) Championships, which is the oldest continuously-contested collegiate championships in any sport, having been conducted annually since 1929.  Including its performance in Saturday's tournament, the Owls have easily been the most dominant team in the tournament in recent history, winning their 16th straight overall title to lead a field of fifteen teams.

It was a total team effort, as the Cherry and White swept all seven titles (Overall Team, Epee Squad, Foil Squad, Sabre Squad, Epee Individual, Foil Individual, Sabre Individual). 

In a day of repeat championship performances, not only did Temple successfully defend all seven titles, all three individual champions were repeat winners. 

Senior Kamali Thompson completed an unprecedented four-year career sweep as individual sabre champion.  Sophomores Epiphany Georges and Chantal Montrose successfully defended individual titles in foil and epee won last year as freshmen.

Joining Thompson, Georges, and Montrose in the individual rounds were Alyssa Lomuscio (silver medal - foil), Kimberly Howell, Emily Dodson, and Danielle Jones (finalists in epee, sabre, and foil, respectively), and Andrea Haley (semi-finalist in sabre). 

During the team rounds, the Owls were dominant, going 110-12 over the course of fifteen rounds of competition.

"Today was a very good day for our team," said Assistant Coach Bradley Baker.  "We had the opportunity to work on some things both as a team and as individuals as we enter post-season play.  This has been a growth year for a number of the members of our team and today helped demonstrate how strong we are collectively.  Now we can focus on using the next week to prepare for NCAA Regionals and qualifying as many people as possible for Nationals."

The Owls return to action next Saturday at the NCAA Mid-Atlantic/South Regional Tournament hosted by Lafayette College.
Print Friendly Version