Women's Tennis Earns Fourth Seed at Upcoming Atlantic 10 Tournament

Women's Tennis Earns Fourth Seed at Upcoming Atlantic 10 Tournament

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – The Temple women's tennis team has received the fourth seed at the 29th annual Atlantic 10 Women's Tennis Championship on April 19-22 at the Boar's Head Sports Club in Charlottesville, Va. The Owls will face #13 Dayton at 9 a.m. on Thursday.

Massachusetts is the top seed at the event. The Minutewomen, who captured the program's only title in 2001, are riding a six match win streak and head in the championship with a 14-7 overall record.

Sophomore Yana Mavrina looks to lead fourth-seeded Temple to its fifth crown in program history and first since 2008. Mavrina has put together a 22-13 singles record that includes a 13-7 dual match mark and a 6-0 record against A-10 teams. She has played all of her singles matches at the first flight.

Also approaching the 20-win plateau for the second year is Jordan Batey. The sophomore is 19-13 for the year with a 13-9 duals record and a 6-1 mark in conference play while playing between the second and fifth flights. Batey and classmate Alicia Doms have teamed up to go a team-best 9-5 in doubles action, playing the majority of their matches at No. 3.

TU has posted a 12-10 record through the regular-season this spring, including a 6-1 record in A-10 play. Temple's only conference loss came in the form of a 4-3 decision against top-seeded Massachusetts early in the season. The Cherry & White ended the year winning seven of their last nine matches, including three 7-0 decisions and four wins over conference foes. Temple did not face Dayton during the regular season this year, but did defeat the Flyers 7-0 last season.

Following Massachusetts, the seeds are Charlotte (second), Richmond (third), Temple (fourth), Xavier (fifth), George Washington (sixth), Fordham (seventh), Rhode Island (eighth), Duquesne (ninth), Saint Louis (10th), Saint Joseph's (11th), St. Bonaventure (12th), Dayton (13th) and La Salle (14th).

Competition begins on Thursday, April 19 at 9:00am, with the final match of the first round slated to start at 3:00pm. The top two seeds will receive a first-round bye and begin play in the quarterfinals on Friday, April 20 at 10:00am and 1:00pm, respectively.  Semifinal action commences on Saturday, April 21 at 10:00am, while the championship finale is set for Sunday, April 22 at 10:00am.

The A-10 Women's Tennis Championship now features a four-day, single-elimination format. The winner of the Championship will receive the Conference's automatic bid to compete in the NCAA Tournament. For more information on the Championship, including match results, recaps and photos, visit the league's online home – atlantic10.com.

2012 Atlantic 10 Conference Women's Tennis Championship Seeds
1. Massachusetts
2. Charlotte
3. Richmond
4. Temple
5. Xavier
6. George Washington
7. Fordham
8. Rhode Island
9. Duquesne
10. Saint Louis
11. Saint Joseph's
12. St. Bonaventure
13. Dayton
14. La Salle

About Boar's Head Sports Club
The Boar's Head Sports Club boasts 26 USTA regulation courts - 10 Outdoor Har-Tru courts that are maintained for seasonal play. Alongside the clay courts, are an additional four Outdoor DecoTurf hard courts for year-round competition. Inside, the Boar's Head features a massive 12 DecoTurf hard courts complex, which plays to the high standards of the ATP and NCAA and serves as the host site of top tournaments. In January 2006, the Boyd Tinsley Courts at the Boar's Head Sports Club were completed, including a six-court tennis stadium with the capacity to seat more than 1,200 spectators for tournaments and collegiate matches. The Boar's Head Sports Club has been the site of past ITA National Individual Indoor Championships and ITA Men's Mideast Regional Championships. The Boar's Head Inn, owned and operated by the UVa Foundation, is a staple of Tennis Magazine's annual "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" rankings.

Print Friendly Version