Three Women's Rowers Earn All-Atlantic 10 Honors

Three Women's Rowers Earn All-Atlantic 10 Honors

PHILADELPHIA - Three Temple University women's rowers were named to the Atlantic 10 All-Conference teams announced today. Seniors Allison Boc and Taylor Wasserleben earned first team honors while junior Joanna Sutor was selected to the second team.  All three were instrumental in the Owls' Varsity 8 taking fourth place at the 2012 A10 Championships held on May 5 on the Cooper River.

It marks just the second time that three Temple women's rowers were named all-conference in the five years that all-conference teams have been selected by the league. In 2010, Bailey Chick and Mary Webster were named to the first team while Nicole Wagner earned second team honors.

“This is excellent news and well deserved," said Temple women's rowing coach Jason Read. "Taylor, Alison, and Joanna have consistently provided athletic and academic leadership to our growing team.  Taylor is one of the best rowers in the NCAA.  Alison and Joanna continue to provide essential power in the engine room of our Varsity 8.”

The trio also helped lead Temple to a tie for third place overall at the A10 Championship.  That tied for the highest finish in program history. They sit next to each other in the Owls' number one shell with Boc in the seventh seat, followed by Wasserleben in seat six and Sutor in seat five.

Temple next competes at the Aberdeen Dad Vail Regatta beginning Friday.

2012 Atlantic 10 Women's Rowing All-Conference Teams

First Team
Kari Tomeny, Rhode Island
Lindsay Stephenson, Rhode Island
Caitlin Dowd, Rhode Island
Anna Kaminiski, George Washington
Maryann Grunseth, George Washington
Emily Boucher, Massachusetts
Kendall Bennett, Massachusetts
Taylor Wasserleben, Temple
Allison Boc, Temple
Katherine Bruening, Dayton
Arianna McDevitt, Saint Joseph's
Celine Egraz, Fordham

Second Team
Megan O'Brien, Rhode Island
Bethany Grim, George Washington
Megan Culberson, George Washington
Michaela Streitfield, Massachusetts
Joanna Sutor, Temple
Sadie Wonders, Dayton
Rachael Thornton, Duquesne
Katie Hunt, La Salle

Print Friendly Version