Women's T&F Places Second At Roadrunner Invitational

Women's T&F Places Second At Roadrunner Invitational


The Temple women's track and field team put up a spectacular effort to place as the runner-up at the Roadrunner Invitational, hosted by Ramapo College. The Owls scored 109 points to claim second place ou of the 22 competing schooldl. Freshman Jamila Janneh came away with the main highlight of the meet for her team, as she landed the triple jump with a mark of 12.14 meters to set a new personal best. Janneh also took third place in the high jump.

In a  collective effort, the Owls' 'A' squad in the 4x100 meter relay, comprised of Isatta Kenneh, Ambrosia Iwugo, Dia Dorsey and Shanae Bailey, combined for a season-best time of 47.64 to earn 10 points toward the team total.

Kenneh and Iwugo had strong days elsewhere, as Kenneh set season bests in the 200 meter dash (25.29) and in the 100 meter dash (12.23), while Iwugo came away with a personal best time in the 100 meter edition with her time of 12.32. In the 200 meter dash, Kenneh was one of three Owls that placed first in their heat of the event (Courtney Mitchell and Tessa West).

Tonney Smith led Temple to 10 more points in the 400 meter dash with the fastest time in career (57.45). Sheina Roberts (59.14) and West (59.09) came two and three, respectively in the dash.

Senior Jade Wilson placed third in the preliminary 100 meter hurdles in order to advance to the final, where she took second place with a personal best and ECAC qualifying time of 14.32.

Senior Jennifer Abercrumbie racked up 10 points for Temple through the three events she participated. Abercrumbie earned fourth place in the shot put (11.48m) before taking sixth place in the hammer throw (35.00m).

Michelle Davis Timothy set a new personal best time (2:20.92)  in the 800 meter run to take fifth place and swipe four points toward her team's meet win, while Kaitlyn McSurdy earned third place in the 400 meter hurdles.

Temple will be back in action next Saturday (April 13) when the team splits between the Mason Spring Invitational (George Mason) and the Hurricane Alumni Invitational (University of Miami).
Print Friendly Version