Pasquale Named Atlantic 10 Softball Player of the Year

Pasquale Named Atlantic 10 Softball Player of the Year

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. Temple softball's Stephanie Pasquale (Pompton Lakes, N.J./Pompton Lakes) has been named the Atlantic 10 Player of the Year in voting conducted among the conference's head coaches, announced today by the league office. In addition, four other TU players picked up all-conference honors. Sarah Prezioso (Bloomfield, N.J./Bloomfield), Ali Robinson (Woodbury, N.J./Gloucester Catholic), Kelsey Dominik (Woolwich Township, N.J./Kingsway Regional) and Annie Marcopolus (Newtown, Pa./Notre Dame (N.J.)) joined Pasquale with postseason accolades.

Taryn Ashway of Saint Joseph's was named the Pitcher of the Year, while teammate Sarah Yoos picked up Rookie of the Year honors. Hawks' head coach Terri Adams was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Pasquale becomes just the third Temple player in A-10 history to earn the top player award, and just the first since Adrienne Repsher in 2007. Also a first-team selection, she leads the squad and the conference with a .462 overall average, hitting .552 in conference play. The catcher has set a Temple and Atlantic 10 single-season record for RBI this year with 74, and currently leads the country with 1.37 per game. The junior is also the toughest player in the nation to strikeout, doing so only three times in 173 at bats. Earlier this year, she put together a 21-game hit streak and has currently reached base safely in 12 consecutive contests. Her record-setting season also includes single-season marks for doubles (20), batting average (.462) and home runs (14).
Joining Pasquale on the first team is Prezioso. Finishing just behind Pasquale in batting with a .436 average, the shortstop also established her own school and conference records, scoring 61 runs, which is good for 11th in the country with a 1.13 average. The junior has also set school single-season records for stolen bases (29) and homeruns (14).
Pasquale and Prezioso, both first-team all-conference members a year ago and second-teamers as freshmen, become the first three-time all league selections for Temple since the 1985-88 season when Lisa Sommer earned three spots.

Joining the duo on the team were Fordham's Jamie LaBovick and Kayla Lombardo; George Washington's Courtney Martin; Katie Bettencourt and Cyndil Matthew of Massachusetts; Yoos and Ashway of Saint Joseph's; and Laura Bohning of Saint Louis.
Robinson, a senior, makes her first appearance on an all-conference team after a solid final season. The second-team selection at outfield has batted a career-best .308 this season with a team-high tying and school single-season record matching 14 homeruns. A three-year team captain, Robinson will graduate with her name at the top of two career lists, at bats (594) and runs (153), and is present in seven others.

In addition to Robinson, the all-conference second-team consists of Jenny Esparza of Butler; Charlotte's Samantha Slade and Briana Gwaltney; Dayton's Tiffany Ricks and Kayla English; Gabby Luety and Elise Fortier of Fordham; George Washington's Autumn Taylor; Tiffany Meeks of UMass; and Dana Parks of Saint Joseph's.

Dominik and Marcopolus represent the Owls on the all-rookie team. Dominik is a dual threat for Temple, pacing the team with a 14-6 record in the circle. The 14 wins are 10th on the TU single-season list, and her .700 winning percentage is the fourth-best. Her 3.94 ERA leads the squad, and she has completed 14 of the 18 games she has started. In addition to her performance on the mound, Dominik is also the top freshman at the plate with a .300 batting average, clubbing 14 homeruns, which is tied with Pasquale, Prezioso and Robinson for a TU single-season record.
Marcopolus, a slap-hitter, batted leadoff for most of the season and has recorded eight hits by way of bunt in 10 attempts. The rookie has scored 45 runs putting her in a tie for third on the TU single-season top-10 list. The outfielder also shows some power at the plate with 11 extra base hits, including six homeruns.
Joining Dominik, Marcopolus and Yoos on the All-Rookie team are Butler's Kristin Gutierrez; Charlotte's Jessica Plemmons; Emily Froment of Dayton; Carlee Gray and Meghan Rico of George Washington; La Salle's Kendra Heyer; Taylor Carbone of Massachusetts; and Laney Kneib and Brianna Lore of Saint Louis.
The Academic All-Conference team consists of Charlotte's Chelsea Ingersoll; Kathleen Maloof of Dayton; Fordham's Michele Daubman; GW's Chelsea Lenhart, Martin and Amanda Zakeri; Matthew of Massachusetts; Rhode Island's Kelly Coker and Jocelyn Mattison; and Parks from Saint Joseph's.
The third-seeded Owls will face sixth-seeded Dayton at 12:30 p.m. Wednesday in the opening round of the 2013 Atlantic 10 Championship, being held at Elaine Sortino Field on the University of Massachusetts campus. The winner of that game advances to face second-seeded Fordham at 2:30 p.m. on Thursday. No. 4 George Washington takes on No. 5 Saint Louis in the first game of the championship Wednesday at 10 a.m. The winner of that game will face top-seeded Saint Joseph's at noon on Thursday. The losers of the first two games will fall into the consolation bracket and play each other Wednesday at 3:00 p.m.

For more information on Temple softball, visit, and
Print Friendly Version