American Announces Mohegan Sun Arena as Site for 2015 Women's Basketball Championship
Mohegan Sun Arena

American Announces Mohegan Sun Arena as Site for 2015 Women's Basketball Championship

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The American Athletic Conference has awarded the 2015 American Women's Basketball
Championship to Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn., Commissioner Mike Aresco announced today.

"The American Athletic Conference and its member institutions are excited to return to a venue that demonstrated
tremendous support for our women's basketball tournament," Aresco said. "Attendance was outstanding, the facility is
first-rate, and the Mohegan Sun staff provided a great experience for our student-athletes, coaches and fans, who we
know will enjoy a return visit next year."

Mohegan Sun Arena will serve as the host of The American's women's basketball championship for the second
straight year. Home to the WNBA's Connecticut Sun, the 10,000-seat arena has hosted championship boxing,
college and professional men's and women's basketball, Davis Cup tennis, professional bull riding and
professional bowling. The WNBA All Star Game has been hosted by Mohegan Sun Arena four times.

"We are thrilled that we will be bringing the American Athletic Conference women's basketball tournament back
to Mohegan Sun Arena," said Mitchell Etess, President and CEO of Mohegan Sun. "Our first year was a huge
success. We are delighted to continue the relationship, and grow this great event moving forward."

All 11 American Athletic Conference schools will participate in the 2015 championship. The format calls for three
first-round games on the first day, followed by four quarterfinal games, two semifinals and the championship
game. The ESPN Networks will provide television and digital coverage of the tournament.

The 2014-15 season will be the second straight year in which the American Athletic Conference has the defending
men's and women's NCAA champions in its ranks. The American was the only conference to place a team in the
semifinals of the Men's Final Four, the Women's Final Four, the NIT and the WNIT last season.

The American's membership in 2014-15 will include UCF, Cincinnati, UConn, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis,
USF, SMU, Temple, Tulane and Tulsa.
Print Friendly Version