Tyler Matakevich


Matakevich Earns Associated Press First Team All-America

PHILADELPHIA – Temple linebacker Tyler Matakevich has been named first team All-American by the Associated Press. The senior has had quite a week, being awarded the Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Chuck Bednarik Award winner given to the nation's best defensive player. He also garnered first team All-America by USA Today and the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

Matakevich is the first Temple defensive player ever to earn first-team All-America honors and the first at any position to earn the nod since Paul Palmer in 1986. He also was the recipient of the Walter Camp Football Foundation Connecticut Player of the Year award. Matakevich, the American Athletic Conference's Defensive Player of the Year, is also a finalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy and Senior CLASS Award.

The Stratford, Conn., native is the only FBS players to lead his team in tackles every game of the 2015 season. He is college football's active leader with 481 career tackles, and is ninth all-time on the NCAA career list. This season, Matakevich has racked up 126 total tackles, and became just the seventh college football player to have four seasons over 100 tackles. He also leads the nation in interceptions among linebackers with a career-high five and also reached career-highs in sacks (4.5) and tackles for loss (15.0).

Matakevich and the Owls will wrap up the 2015 season in the Marmot Boca Raton Bowl against Toledo on Tuesday, December 22. Kickoff is 7:00 p.m. and the game will air on ESPN. For tickets and package information, visit owlstix.com.

Associated Press All-America First Team
QB — Deshaun Watson, sophomore, Clemson
RB — Derrick Henry, junior, Alabama; Leonard Fournette, sophomore, LSU
OT — Taylor Decker, senior, Ohio State; Spencer Drango, senior, Baylor
OG — Joshua Garnett, senior, Stanford; Landon Turner, senior, North Carolina
C — Jack Allen, senior, Michigan State
WR — Corey Coleman, junior, Baylor; Josh Doctson, senior, TCU
TE — Hunter Henry, junior, Arkansas
All-purpose player — Christian McCaffrey, sophomore, Stanford
K — Ka'imi Fairbairn, senior, UCLA
DE — Shaq Lawson, junior, Clemson; Carl Nassib, senior, Penn State
DT — A'Shawn Robinson, junior, Alabama; Andrew Billings, junior, Baylor
LB — Reggie Ragland, senior, Alabama; Tyler Matakevich, senior, Temple; Jaylon Smith, junior, Notre Dame
CB — Desmond King, junior, Iowa; Vernon Hargreaves III, sophomore, Florida
S — Jeremy Cash, senior, Duke; Vonn Bell, junior, Ohio State
P — Tom Hackett, senior, Utah

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned