MBB All Conference 2015

Men's Basketball

Cummings, Bond Honored as The American Announces All-Conference Teams

PHILADELPHIA - Senior guard Will Cummings earned first team honors while junior forward Jaylen Bond was one of four players to garner honorable mention recognition as the American Athletic Conference announced its all-conference teams today.

Cummings, who serves as co-captain for Temple, was instrumental in the Owls incredible turnaround from a 9-22 season in 2013-14 to a 22-9 (13-5 American) campaign in 2014-15.  The Jacksonville, Fla. native leads the Owls and ranks among the American Athletic Conference's Top 10 in the following categories: scoring (14.1 ppg/5th), assists (4.3 apg/4th), steals (2.1 spg/1st), free throw percentage (.779/7th), free throws made (152/1st), assist-to-turnover ratio (2.2/4th) and minutes per game (34.0 mpg/t-5th). 

Bond, one of three Philadelphia area transfers (Texas) new to this season's team, has been a defensive force inside for Temple, helping the Owl defense hold opponents to 59.9 points per game.  The Philadelphia native leads the conference in rebounding (8. 3 rpg) while ranking fourth on the squad with an 8.2 scoring average.

The two have helped Temple to 13 more victories than a season ago, which is tied for the third best turnaround in the nation.  Defensively, the Owls' 18.2 improvement in opponents points per game (78.1 to 59.9 ppg) from last season to this season currently leads the nation. 

Cummings was joined on the first team by Ryan Boatright (UConn), Austin Nichols (Memphis), Nic Moore (SMU) and James Woodward (Tulsa).  The second team consisted of Octavius Ellis (Cincinnati), Markus Kennedy (SMU), Yanick Moreira (SMU), Louis Dabney (Tulane) and Shaquille Harrison (Tulsa). 

Joining Bond on the honorable mention list were Troy Caupain (Cincinnati), Amida Brimah (UConn) and Daniel Hamilton (UConn).

The Conference's all-Rookie Team consists of Adoyns Henriquez (UCF), B.J. Taylor (UCF), Gary Clark (Cincinnati), Hamilton (UConn) and B.J. Tyson (East Carolina). 

Defensive Player of the Year, Sixth Man, Most Improved Player and Sportsmanship Award winners will be announced Wednesday with Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year and Scholar Athlete of the Year being announced at an awards luncheon held at the XL Center on Thursday (12:30 pm).

Fourth-seeded Temple opens plays in the American Athletic Conference Championship at the XL Center in Hartford, Conn. on Friday against fifth-seeded Memphis (18-13) at 2:00 pm (ESPN2/1210 AM WPHT).
Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned