Women's Tennis

Abdurakhimova Earns American Athletic Conference Honors

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - Freshman Alina Abdurakhimova was named American Athletic Conference co-Freshman of the Year and was named to the All-Conference team, the American Athletic Conference announced today.

Abdurakhimova posted an overall record of 19-5 in the 2014-15 season, going 18-2 in dual competitions, all at the number one flight. Abdurakhimova took down the number one players from Penn, Rutgers, Akron, UCF, UConn, and Cincinnati in the American Athletic Conference Championship first round.

While helping lead the women's tennis team to a 19 win season, the most by any team in Temple's history, Abdurakhimova picked up 16 straight-set victories which included a streak of nine consecutive wins. In doubles, Abdurakhimova was 11-8 with partners Yana Khon and Dina Karina

"We're all so very proud of Alina's accomplishments this year. She really represents Temple in the highest manner," said head coach Steve Mauro. "It's really quite an accomplishment to earn freshman of the year and all-conference in one of the top tennis conferences in the county. For her to accomplish this feat, it's really outstanding. Alina has been a great leader for the team this year and we see great things to come for her and the women's tennis team."

Player of the Year
Despoina Vogasari, Houston

Co-Freshmen of the Year
Alina Abdurakhimova, Temple
Ksenia Laskutova, Tulsa
Coach of the Year
Dean Orford, Tulsa
All-Conference Team*
Caroline Eberhart, UCF
Kelly Poggensee-Wei, Cincinnati
Srna Stosljevic, UConn
Elena Kordolaimi, Houston
Tina Rupert, Houston
Despoina Vogasari, Houston
Anki Wind, Memphis
Hristina Dishkova, SMU
Alina Abdurakhimova, Temple
Naz Karagoz, Tulane
Marcelina Cichon, Tulsa
Renata Kuricova, Tulsa
Rongrong Leenabanchong, Tulsa
Saana Saarteinen, Tulsa
* There are 14 players on the all-conference team due to a tie for the final selection.
Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned