Haason Reddick


Reddick Makes Bednarik Mid-Season Watch List

PHILADELPHIA –The Maxwell Football Club today announced the expansion of its 2016 Watch Lists for both the 80th Maxwell Award and the 22nd Chuck Bednarik Award. Temple senior defensive lineman Haason Reddick was added to the Chuck Bednarik Award mid-season watch list given annually to the nation's best college defensive player.

So far this season, Reddick leads the nation in TFLs (14.0) and average TFL per-game (2.0). He needs five more to break the American Athletic Conference single season record (19.0) set by Houston's Elandon Roberts last year. He also has (6.5) sacks this season which leads the conference.

For his career he has 37.5 TFL, which is third on the school's all-time list.  He needs one more to break the AAC career record (38.0) set by Houston's Steven Taylor.

In the past three weeks, Reddick has earned AAC Defensive player of the week once (vs. SMU) and was recognized on its Honor Roll for the other two games. He has had 2.0 sacks in each of those games and recorded 5.0 TFL at Memphis which is tied for a conference single game record.

Last season, Reddick was named an All-Conference Honorable Mention by the American Athletic Conference and an All- American Athletic Conference Third Team Selection by Phil Steele.

Reddick attempts to follow 2015 Bednarik Award winner, Temple's Tyler Matakevich, who moved on to the professional ranks and is now a member of the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced October 31, 2016, while the three finalists for each award will be unveiled November 21, 2016. The winners of the 2016 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on December 8, 2016. The formal presentations of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Tropicana Hotel & Casino Atlantic City on March 10, 2017.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. Maxwell's contributions to the game of football were extensive, including time as a player, a sportswriter and an official. The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995. Chuck Bednarik, former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67.

The Maxwell and Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast over 722 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more.


Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned