Alex Starzyk


Football's Starzyk Named Ray Guy Award Candidate

PHILADELPHIA - The Augusta Sports Council has released the complete list of candidates for the 2016 Ray Guy Award. The Ray Guy Award identifies the nation's top collegiate punter at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards every year in December. Among the 66 candidates is Temple's Alex Starzyk.

Starzyk has been making an impact flipping the field for the Owls all season mixing traditional punts with rugby-style kicks. The junior's 39.8-yard average on 35 punts seems average but his ability to limit returns and force opponents to surrender, have worked to Temple's advantage. Fewer than half of his punts have been returned - just 16 for a total of 76 yards (4.8-yard average); more than one-third (13) have been downed inside the 20; and two have bounced off returners that have been recovered by the Owls.

The following list will be narrowed down to ten semifinalists to be announced on Friday, November 11. Following the announcement, a panel will vote for the three finalists who will be identified on Tuesday, November 22. The voting body will then cast ballots to select the winner. The 2016 Ray Guy Award winner will be announced live on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 8.

Joining Starzyk on the ballot are: JK Scott, Alabama; Matt Haack, Arizona State; Toby Baker, Arkansas; Drew Galitz, Baylor; Sean Wale, Boise State; Joseph Davidson, Bowling Green; Jonny Linehan, Brigham Young; Kyle DeWeen, Buffalo; Dylan Klumph, California; Hayden Hunt, Colorado State; Worth Gregory, East Carolina; Austin Barnes, Eastern Michigan; Stone Wilson, FIU; Johnny Townsend, Florida; Dalton Schomp, Florida Atlantic; Rigoberto Sanchez, Hawaii; Austin Rehkow, Idaho; Colin Downing, Iowa State; Cole Moos, Kansas; Derek Adams, Kent State; Grant McKinniss, Kentucky; Steven Coutts, Louisiana-Lafayette; Wade Lees, Maryland; Logan Laurent, Massachusetts; Spencer Smith, Memphis; Paul Justin Vogel, Miami; Kenny Allen, Michigan; Matt Bonadies, Middle Tennessee; Ryan Santoso, Minnesota; Logan Cooke, Mississippi State; Corey Fatony, Missouri; Alex Barta, Navy; Alfred James Cole, III, NC State; Tom Sheldon, North Carolina; Eric Keena, North Texas; Hunter Niswander, Northwestern; Cameron Johnston, Ohio State; Austin Seibert, Oklahoma; Zach Sinor, Oklahoma State; Bailey Cate, Old Dominion; Nick Porebski, Oregon State; Blake Gillikin, Penn State; Ryan Henry Winslow, Pittsburgh; Jack Fox, Rice; Tanner Blain, San Diego State; Michael Carrizosa, San Jose State; Sean Kelly, South Carolina; Jonathan Hernandez, South Florida; Jake Bailey, Stanford; Sterling Hofrichter, Syracuse; Adam Nunez, TCU; Trevor Daniel, Tennessee; Michael Dickson, Texas; Shane Tripucka, Texas A&M; Lumi Kaba, Texas State; Justin Wain, Connecticut; Caleb Houston, UCF; Chris Tilbey, USC; Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah; Aaron Dalton, Utah State; Alex Luna, UTEP; Nicholas Conte, Virginia; Billy Kinney, West Virginia; Jake Collins, WKU; Ethan Wood, Wyoming

Ray Guy Award 
The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College/Pro Football Hall of Fame Inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponent's 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline and have a positive impact on the team's success. To learn more, visit
Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned