Men's Soccer

Men's Soccer Awarded Four All-Conference Selections

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Following the conclusion of the 2016 regular season, Temple men's soccer has been honored with four All-Conference selections from the American Athletic Conference. Jorge Gomez Sanchez and Carlos Moros Gracia were picked as first-team honorees Joonas Jokinen tabbing a second-team slot and Albert Moreno earning a spot on the All-Rookie team.

Gomez Sanchez and Moros Gracia are the first Owls to earn first-team recognition since entry into the American Athletic Conference in the 2013 season. Prior to that season, the last first-team selection for Temple men's soccer came in 2010 with Cody Calafiore earning a spot on the Atlantic-10's first team roster.

The duo have bookended the Owls' offensive and defensive setup for the past two seasons. This year, Gomez Sanchez, a unanimous first-team selection, notched 14 goals and three assists for a total of 31 points that accounted for nearly half of the team's total points. He was named the American Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Week on three separate occasions and notched an honor roll spots in week three.

Center back Moros Gracia has helped lead an impressive Temple back line that allowed only three goals in the inaugural, unbeaten season at the Temple Sports Complex. Playing for a total of 1,674 minutes and starting all 18 matches, he has been able to apply defensive strength and tab one goal and one assist.

Jokinen completed his season ranking second on the team in total points with three goals and six assists. His assists mark ranked first on the team and second in the conference behind Midfielder of the Year Adam Wilson of Cincinnati.

Moreno, the All-Rookie selection, opened up his Owl career with 17 starts in 17 games-played. Posting two key assists, the first-year player helped control the center of the field for the Owls on their way to a 10-win season.

2016 American Athletic Conference Men's Soccer Awards
[*] denotes unanimous selection
Offensive Player of the Year: Matias Pyysalo, UCF
Defensive Player of the Year: Prosper Figbe, USF
Midfielder of the Year: Adam Wilson, Cincinnati
Goalkeeper of the Year: Spasoje Stefanovic, USF
Rookie of the Year: Garrett McLaughlin, SMU
Coaching Staff of the Year: USF
Team Fair Play Award (Determined by fewest accumulation of points) Foul-1pt.; Yellow card-5 pts. Red card-10 pts.
UConn (108 pts. in conference play)

First Team All-Conference:  
Matias Pyysalo, M, UCF
Adam Wilson, M, Cincinnati
*Kwame Awuah, M, UConn
*Abdou Mbacke Thiam, F, UConn
Jake Nerwinski, B, UConn
Nazeem Bartman, F, USF
Prosper Figbe, B, USF
Lindo Mfeka, M, USF
Spasoje Stefanovic, GK, USF
*Jorge Gomez Sanchez, F, Temple
 Carlos Moros Gracia, B, Temple

Second Team All-Conference:
Patrick Nielsen, B, Cincinnati
Simen Olafsen, B, UConn
Raul Gonzalez, M, Memphis
Joonas Jokinen, F, Temple
Melvin Becket, F, USF
Jordan Cano, B, SMU
Mauro Cichero, M, SMU
Jake McGuire, GK, Tulsa
Matt Puig, F, Tulsa
Ray Saari, M, Tulsa
Zack Stavrou, B, Tulsa

All-Rookie Team:
Brian Jamba, M, UCF
Ryan Melink, M, Cincinnati
Patrick Nielsen, B, Cincinnati
David Sanz, M, Cincinnati
Niko Petridis, M, UConn
Munir Saleh, M, UConn
Jackson Morse, M, Memphis
*Garrett McLaughlin, F, SMU
Albert Moreno, M, Temple
*Alejandro Chavez, B, Tulsa
Matt Puig, F, Tulsa
Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned