Tina Sloan Green

Women's Lacrosse

Tina Sloan Green Named to Inaugural IWLCA Hall of Fame Class

PHILADELPHIA - The Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association has selected six coaches for induction into the organization's first Hall of Fame class, and it includes Temple Athletics Hall of Famer Tina Sloan Green. The inaugural class will be formally enshrined on Thursday, November 16 during the IWLCA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony during the Annual Meetings at Disney's Coronado Springs Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.
The 2017 class is comprised of Sloan Green, Missy Foote, Carole Kleinfelder, Sharon Pfluger, Cindy Timchal, and Marge Watson. The class was chosen by the IWLCA's Hall of Fame committee, chaired by Princeton University head coach Chris Sailer.
"The Hall of Fame committee did a phenomenal job selecting our inaugural class," according to Kathy Taylor, President of the IWLCA and head coach at Le Moyne College. "Choosing a group of six honorees from among the many qualified nominees was no easy task. Collectively they personify the highest level of achievement in our sport, and have set a standard the rest of us aspire to reach. Their impact on their players, programs, institutions, and the larger lacrosse community cannot be overstated and we are pleased to be able to celebrate their legacy by enshrining them in our Hall of Fame."
Tickets for the 2017 IWLCA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are now available for purchase online and will remain on-sale through November 10, 2017. The IWLCA Hall of Fame was established in May 2017 to recognize and honor outstanding career achievements by collegiate women's lacrosse coaches.
2017 Hall of Fame Inductee Bios
Missy Foote served as the head women's lacrosse coach at Middlebury College from 1978 through 2015, amassing a 422-114-1 record. She was named NESCAC coach of the year eight times during her tenure leading the Panthers, and took home IWLCA national Coach of the Year honors in 1994, 1997, 2000, 2001, and 2002. Foote coached more than 35 first-team All-Americans, including 11 national position Players of the Year. Her teams won the NCAA Division III championship in 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, and 2004, and qualified for the NCAA tournament 21 times, advancing to the national semi-finals in 17 of those years. Foote is a member of the US Lacrosse National Hall of Fame's 2012 induction class.
Tina Sloan Green was Temple's head coach from 1975 – 1992 and collected 207 career victories in 18 seasons. She was the first African-American head coach in the history of intercollegiate women's lacrosse, and led her team to three national championships, claiming the AIAW title in 1982 and the NCAA crown in 1984 and 1988. Sloan Green was named the national Coach of the Year in 1988. She is the founder of the Black Women in Sport Foundation and received the 2016 Spirit of Tewaaraton Award. Sloan Green was inducted into the US Lacrosse National Hall of Fame in 1997.
Carole Kleinfelder began her career as the head coach at Harvard University in 1979. Over the next 25 years, her teams compiled a 260-132-3 record, including a 15-0 run in 1990 when the Crimson won the NCAA Division I championship. Kleinfelder's squad captured 12 Ivy League titles, including seven straight from 1987-1993, and qualified for three AIAW national tournament fields, and nine NCAA tournament fields. Kleinfelder served as President of the United States Women's Lacrosse Association (USWLA) and was the first President of the IWLCA when the organization was formed in 1982.
Sharon Pfluger is the winningest women's lacrosse coach in history, posting a career record of 494-55-1 and a .900 winning percentage as the head coach at The College of New Jersey. She has coached her squads to post-season tournament bids in every season and won 11 NCAA Division III national championships. A 13-time IWLCA regional Coach of the Year, Pfluger was named the nation's top coach by her peers in 1987 and 2004. Her players include 81 first-team All-Americans and 16 national position Players of the Year. She is one of just two female coaches (Pat Summitt being the other) featured in the NCAA Hall of Champions' Legends of the Game display in Indianapolis. Pfluger was inducted into the US Lacrosse National Hall of Fame in 2007.
Cindy Timchal's storied coaching career has seen her take three separate programs to the NCAA tournament, as she led Northwestern (1982-1990) to five post-season bids, Maryland (1991-2006) to 16 bids and eight NCAA championships, and the U.S. Naval Academy to five NCAA appearances, including a run to the semi-finals in 2017. Her career record stands at 491-129, good for a .792 winning percentage; her total career wins are second only to Pfluger. Timchal has collected nine conference Coach of the Year awards, four in the ACC and five in the Patriot League. She has coached 13 national position Players of the Year, three Tewaaraton finalists and one winner of the award. Timchal was inducted into the US Lacrosse National Hall of Fame in 2012.
Marge Watson started the women's lacrosse program at Ursinus College in 1957 and served as the head coach until 1981, posting a 199-19-9 record. Her .896 winning percentage is the second highest all-time (behind Pfluger), and her teams recorded seven undefeated seasons. Watson led Ursinus to national runner-up finishes in the 1979 USWLA National Tournament and the 1981 AIAW National Championship. She has a strong record of service, helping to found the Philadelphia Colleges Women's Lacrosse Association in 1970 and receiving the inaugural IWLCA Lifetime Achievement Award (later renamed the Diane Geppi-Aikens Award) in 2000. Watson was inducted into the US Lacrosse National Hall of Fame in 2014.
Print Friendly Version